Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ESA MINISTERIAL COUNCIL, Nov 22-23, 2022, Paris, FR


The relevant ministers of the 22 member states of the European Space Agency (ESA) will meet in Paris, FR from November 22-23, 2022 to decide the agency’s programs and budget for the next three years.

ESA TV will provide coverage as follows (times are in Central European Time, which is 6 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time):

  • November 22:  09:00 CET, ESA Council Meeting at Ministerial Level — Opening and Statements
  • November 23: 11:30 CET, ESA Council Meeting at Ministerial Level — Statements Continue
  • November 23: 13:30 CET, ESA Council Meeting at Ministerial Level — Media Conference
  • November 23: 14:20 CET, Announcement of ESA’s New Class of Astronauts

ESA Director General Josef Aschbacher’s “vision” is for Europe to be more independent in space activities and is requesting an almost 25 percent increase in funding to that end.

As explained on ESA’s website, “ESA has 22 Member States. The national bodies responsible for space in these countries sit on ESA’s governing Council: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.”

“Canada also sits on the Council and takes part in some projects under a Cooperation Agreement. Slovakia, Slovenia, Latvia and Lithuania are Associate Members. Four other EU states have Cooperation Agreements with ESA: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Malta.”


November 22, 2022 @ 3:00 am
November 23, 2022 @ 11:00 pm