Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

INTERNATIONAL ASTEROID DAY, June 30, 2020, Global

The United Nations declared June 30 of every year as Asteroid Day.  It is the anniversary of the 1908 “Tunguska event” when an asteroid is thought to have exploded above the ground near Tunguska, Russia and leveled millions of trees across 2200 square kilometers of Siberia.

The European Space Agency (ESA) is very involved in Asteroid Day and some events air on its website.  Some events will take place before June 30, but on that day, at 12:00 CEST (6:00 am EDT) it will air a program in English.

An Asteroid Day Foundation press release provides information about its activities including links to panel sessions that will take place over five hours beginning at 13:00 CEST (7:00 am EDT) on the following topics:

● “Target Asteroid: How to Move an Incoming Space Rock”
● “Ingredients of Life: Bringing Asteroid Samples to Earth”
● “Asteroid Safari: Finding the Elusive Space Rocks”
● “Preparing the Future: Making Tools to Investigate Asteroids”
● “Seeing is Believing: The Art of Asteroid Computer Simulations”
● “From Satellites to Asteroids: Luxembourg’s and ESA’s role”
● “Ask Me Anything About Asteroids with Astronauts”

 

Details

Date:
June 30
Time:
8:00 am - 11:00 pm