Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

JPSS-2/LOFTID SCIENCE BRIEFING, Nov 8, 2022, VSFB/virtual, 5:30 pm ET

(NASA Live)

Update, November 7: This briefing has been rescheduled for tomorrow, November 8, at 5:30 pm ET.  Audio will livestream on NASA Live. Launch is scheduled for November 10 at 4:25 am ET.

Update, October 29:  Shortly before the briefing was to start, NASA announced that the launch of JPSS-2 and LOFTID will be postponed untl at least Novmeber 9 because a battery in the rocket’s upper stage needs to be replaced, and this briefing is also postponed. A new date was not set.

Original Entry: NASA will hold a science briefing in advance of the launch of NOAA’s Joint Polar Satellite System-2 (JPSS-2) and NASA’s Low-Earth Orbit Flight Test of an Inflatable Decelerator (LOFTID) technology demonstration at 4:00 pm Eastern Time (1:00 pm Pacific) on October 29, 2022 at Vandenberg Space Force Base, CA. The launch is scheduled for November 1, 2022 at 5:25 am Eastern (2:25 am Pacific) from Vandenberg Space Force Base, CA.

The science briefing at Vandenberg will be broadcast on NASA Television, the NASA app, and NASA Live.

Participants are:

  • Jordan Gerth, meteorologist and satellite scientist, NOAA’s National Weather Service
  • Jim Gleason, senior project scientist, NASA JPSS, NASA
  • Satya Kalluri, program scientist, NOAA JPSS Program
  • Heather Kilcoyne, ground project manager, NOAA JPSS
  • Joe Del Corso, LOFTID project manager, NASA’s Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia

Details

Date:
November 8, 2022
Time:
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm