Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ANOTHER LAUNCH UPDATE

LAUNCH OF JAXA’S HTV-8 TO ISS, Sept 24, 2019 ET, 12:05 pm EDT (Sept 25, 1:05 am JST), Tanegashima, Japan (NASA TV)

Update, September 21:  MHI has rescheduled it again “due to the results of the latest orbit based analysis” of the ISS and Soyuz spacecraft (Soyuz MS-15 is launching and docking on Sept 25).  The new HTV-8 launch date is September 25, 1:05 am JST, which is September 24, 12:05 pm Eastern Daylight Time.  NASA TV coverage begins at 11:30 am ET.

If launch is on time, HTV-8 will arrive at the ISS on Saturday, September 28.  NASA TV coverage of redezvous and capture begins at 5:45 am ET.

Update, September 20:  The launch has been rescheduled for September 24 at 1:30 am Japan Standard Time (JST), which is September 23, 12:30 pm Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Update, September 10:  The launch was scrubbed after a fire broke out at the base of the rocket.  Details are pending.  Aviation Week & Space Technology reporter Irene Klotz is at Tanegashima and live-tweeting events.  She reports that Mitsubishi Heavy Industries (MHI), which built the rocket, said at a press conference that the launch is off for at least 2-3 days.

Original Entry: The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) will launch its eighth cargo resupply mission to the International Space Station (ISS), HTV-8 or Kounotori-8, on September 11, 2019 at 6:33 am Japan Standard Time (September 10, 5:33 pm Eastern Daylight Time).  The launch will take place from the Yoshinobu Launch Complex at the JAXA Tanegashima Center.

The scheduled launch date is exactly the 10th anniversary of the launch of the first HTV to ISS.

NASA TV coverage begins at 5:00 pm ET.

Backup launch dates are available through October 31.

If launch takes place on September 11, HTV-8 will arrive at ISS on September 14 Japan Standard Time.  NASA TV coverage of rendezvous and capture by Canadarm2 begins at 5:30 am ET.  Capture will take place about 7:00 am ET.

Details

Date:
September 24
Time:
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm