Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

RESCHEDULED

JPSS-1 LAUNCH, Nov 16, 2017, Vandenberg AFB, CA, 4:47 am ET (1:47 am Pacific) NASA TV

UPDATE, Nov. 16:  ULA President Tory Bruno tweeted this morning that the launch has been rescheduled for Saturday (November 18).  

UPDATE, Nov. 15:  The launch was scrubbed on November 15 due to high winds aloft.  A new launch has not been announced.

UPDATE, Nov. 14:  The launch was scrubbed on November 14 due to two problems that developed just as they were coming out of the planned T-4 minute hold.  They will try again tomorrow, November 15.  Launch time tomorrow is same as today: 1:47 am Pacific/4:47 am Eastern.

UPDATE, Nov. 8:  The launch has been rescheduled for November 14 at 4:47 am ET (1:47 am Pacific).  NASA TV coverage begins at 4:15 am ET (1:15 am Pacific).  The launch has a 66 second launch window.

UPDATE, NOV. 6:  The launch has been delayed to No Earlier Than (NET) November 14 at 4:47 am ET (1:47 am local time) because a battery on the Delta II booster needs to be replaced.   A new date and time will be announced later.

Original Entry:  NOAA’s Joint Polar Satellite System-1 (JPSS-1) weather satellite is scheduled for launch on a Delta II rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base, CA at 1:47 am Pacific Time (4:47 am Eastern) on November 10, 2017.  It is the first of a new series of advanced polar-orbiting weather satellites.

Once it is in orbit, the satellite will be renamed NOAA-20, the next in the series of NOAA polar-orbiting weather satellites.

NASA manages the acquisition and launch of NOAA satellites.

NASA will broadcast the launch beginning at 1:15 am Pacific (4:15 am Eastern).  Two pre-launch briefings are schedule for two days before the launch.

Details

Date:
November 18
Time:
1:30 am - 11:00 pm