UPDATE: Text of Letter to Obama from 62 Members of Congress

UPDATE: Text of Letter to Obama from 62 Members of Congress

UPDATE: A typed list of the signatories has been added to this article since some of the signatures are a bit hard to decipher.

ORIGINAL STORY: Sixty-two Members of Congress sent a letter to President Obama today expressing concern that the decision to cancel the Constellation program could mean that the United States would cede its leadership in human spaceflight to other countries.

The letter calls for a human mission beyond low Earth orbit in the coming 10 years and immediate development of a heavy lift launch vehicle, saying “we see no need to prolong a decision that will result in the loss of a highly-experienced and motivated workforce.” The Members say they look forward to working with the President “to make the necessary changes to support an exploration program that continues our elite astronaut corps, preserves an irreplaceable workforce, protects our defense industrial base and ensures that the U.S. will leave low-Earth orbt within the decade.”

The letter is being distributed by the office of Congressman Frank Wolf (R-VA), which provided the following typed list of 62 signatories from 18 states:

Trent Franks (R)
Ed Pastor (D)

Steven LaTourette (R)
Michael Turner (R)

Dutch Ruppersberger (D)

New York:
Maurice Hinchey (D)

Lynn Jenkins (R)

Frank Wolf (R)

Ed Perlmutter (D)
John Salazar (D)

Joseph Cao (R)
John Fleming (R)
Charlie Melancon (D)
Steve Scalise (R)
Rodney Alexander (R)

Mike Rogers (R)

Sanford Bishop (D)

Suzanne Kosmas (D)
Bill Posey (R)
Alan Grayson (D)
Adam Putnam (R)
Ander Crenshaw (R)
Jeff Miller (R)
Ron Klein (D)
Corrine Brown (D)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D)
C.W. Bill Young (R)
Mario Diaz-Balart (R)
Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R)
Tom Rooney (R)

Laura Richardson (D)
Ken Calvert (R)
John Campbell (R)
Buck McKeon (R)

David Wu (D)

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R)

Robert Brady (D)

Rhodes Island:
Jim Langevin (D)

Todd Akin (R)

Gene Green (D)
John Culberson (R)
Sheila Jackson-Lee (D)
Henry Cuellar (D)
John Carter (R)
Al Green (D)
Ted Poe (R)
Mac Thornberry (R)
Mike McCaul (R)
Kevin Brady (R)
Ciro Rodriguez (D)
Ruben Hinojosa (D)
Solomon Ortiz (D)
Silvestre Reyes (D)
Joe Barton (R)
Charles Gonzalez (D)
Kay Granger (R)
Pete Sessions (R)
Michael Conoway (R)
Michael Burgess (R)
Louie Gohmert (R)
Kenny Marchant (R)
Lamar Smith (R)

User Comments

SpacePolicyOnline.com has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.