ESA Moves Closer to Adding Another Member — Poland

ESA Moves Closer to Adding Another Member — Poland

The European Space Agency (ESA) moved closer this week to adding another new member — Poland.   When all is said and done, Poland will become ESA’s 20th member.

The ESA Council approved Poland’s accession to the ESA Convention on July 13. Poland now must go through an internal ratification process and then deposit its instruments of accession to the French government before it officially becomes an ESA member.   However, it will participate in meetings of the ESA Council as an observer until then.  It has been a “cooperating state” since 2007.

Poland will join 19 other European countries in ESA:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Repubic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • the Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • the United Kingdom

Hungary, Estonia and Slovenia continue to be European Cooperating States.  

User Comments has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.