Poland Officially Becomes ESA's 20th Member

Poland Officially Becomes ESA's 20th Member

Poland officially joined the European Space Agency (ESA) today, November 19, 2012.  

Poland and ESA exchanged Accession Agreements on September 13.  The Government of Poland needed to ratify the agreement and completed the final step of depositing the “ratification instrument” with the Government of France today.  ESA is headquartered in Paris, France.  

ESA reports that the Polish flag is now flying alongside those of the other 19 ESA members as its Ministerial Council gets ready to begin a meeting that will decide major aspects of Europe’s space program for the next several years.  The two-day ministerial meeting starts tomorrow in Naples, Italy.

The other 19 members of ESA are:  Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

User Comments

SpacePolicyOnline.com has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.