Soyuz TMA-07M Launches with Three New ISS Crew Members-UPDATE

Soyuz TMA-07M Launches with Three New ISS Crew Members-UPDATE

UPDATE:   Soyuz TMA-07M and its trio of ISS crew members docked with the space station as scheduled today (Dec. 21) at 9:09 am ET.

The Soyuz TMA-07M spacecraft lifted off on time at 7:12 am Eastern Standard Time (EST) this morning, taking three new crew members to the International Space Station (ISS).  Everything seems to be going well at the moment.

NASA’s Tom Marshburn, Canada’s Chris Hadfield, and Russia’s Roman Romanenko began their journey from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 6:12 pm local time at the launch site (6:12 am CST in Houston,TX, home of NASA’s Mission Control).  They are scheduled to dock with the ISS on Friday at 9:10 am EST (8:10 am CST) and join the three ISS crew members already aboard:  NASA’s Kevin Ford and Russia’s Oleg Novitsky and Evgeny Tarelkin.  That will return the ISS to its normal crew complement of six.

Hadfield will become the first Canadian commander of the ISS later in this mission.

User Comments has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.