House Space Subcommittee Members Named for 113th Congress

House Space Subcommittee Members Named for 113th Congress

The House Science, Space and Technology (HSS&T) Committee held its 113th Congress organizational meeting today.  The committee adopted the rosters for the members of its six subcommittees, including the Space Subcommittee.

The committee previously decided to have six instead of five subcommittees this Congress, splitting the Energy and Environment Subcommittee into two.  It also has streamlined the names of the subcommittees, so each is identified with only one word:   Energy, Environment, Space, Technology, Research and Oversight.

The Space Subcommittee still has jurisdiction over aeronautics research (the first “A” in NASA); the renaming did not change that.  The subcommittee will once again be chaired by Rep. Steve Palazzo (R-MS), whose state includes NASA’s Stennis Space Center.  The top Democrat is Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD), who represents a district very close to NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center where she once worked as a contractor for Lockheed.

The full roster follows.  


  • Chairman Steven Palazzo, Mississippi
  • Ralph Hall, Texas
  • Dana Rohrabacher, California
  • Frank D. Lucas, Oklahoma
  • Michael McCaul, Texas
  • Mo Brooks, Alabama
  • Larry Bucshon, Indiana
  • Steve Stockman,  Texas
  • Bill Posey, Florida
  • David Schweikert, Arizona
  • Jim Bridenstine, Oklahoma
  • Chris Stewart, Utah


  • Donna Edwards, Maryland (Ranking Member) 
  • Frederica Wilson, Florida 
  • Suzanne Bonamici, Oregon 
  • Dan Maffei, New York 
  • Joe Kennedy, Massachusetts 
  • Derek Kilmer, Washington 
  • Ami Bera, California 
  • Marc Veasey, Texas
  • Julia Brownley, California


User Comments has the right (but not the obligation) to monitor the comments and to remove any materials it deems inappropriate.  We do not post comments that include links to other websites since we have no control over that content nor can we verify the security of such links.